punky is sweet, and so is her chicken

Leaves change hues, I need a jacket, and we’re trading the grill for the oven since we’re too pansy to cook in the cold night air:  it’s for sure fall at the Farley house. 

I should let it be known that usually, when it comes to feeding Farley, he likes to partake in some of the cooking at home.  He happens, as per stereotype, to be the one who grills and I am the one who marinates.  (Well, I myself don’t actually marinate, silly, I am in charge of making the marinades!)

Above you see a lovely bespeckled marinade that I have been working on that proves to be quite tasty and delicious.  This one came about when Farley called me–he was still at work; I’d just gotten home–to see what I could come up with for the chicken we planned to grill….and then changed our minds to baking once we got too chicken to stand outside (…get it?…chicken….ah, so punny!)

Mustard typically serves as the base for most of the marinades made at casa Farley.   For this dish, I wanted to incorporate some fall flavors, and used a very sweet honey mustard–usually reserved for the dipping of chicken fingers or pretzels.  And it was AWESOME!!!

Here we go, kiddos, to the moistest, tastiest, and sweetest chicken you’ll ever lay your lips on:

PUNKY’S SWEET FALL CHICKEN

1–In a small bowl, combine 1/2 cup of sweet honey mustard, 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar, and 2 T. olive oil.    Add to this 1 T. garlic powder, 2 tsp. dried rosemary, 1 tsp. oregano, 1/2 tsp. ground sage, and salt and pepper to taste.  You could also sprinkle some dried basil into the mix, or whatever suits your fancy. WHISK WELL!!!

2–Take a (sanitary) taste–if you want it a little more herby, go on, load up!

3–In a rather large zip-loc bag, Cover three or four chicken breasts with the yummy mixture.  Let marinate for at least an hour (I did 2).

4–Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until done!  (Once, the chicken breasts were pretty thick, so we baked them at 375 instead….and they weren’t a bit dry, just so you know.)

5–OPTIONAL—instead of throwing away the reserve marinade, boil the sucker in a small saucepan.  Once boiled,  it’s safe to eat.  Pour on top of chicken when finished.  

**NOTE:  we use a digital meat thermometer to check for doneness every single time we cook meat.  Chicken is edible and moist and safe at 165 degrees.   Bed, Bath and Beyond sells a terrific, reliable, and easy-peasy tool.  It’s the Oxo Good Grips Digital Leave-In Thermometer and I rely on this for all my meats now.  You can buy it here

or click on the link below:

http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=16758434

This dish was so mmm mmm tasty that I forgot to take a finished-product picture! Dear me! So I will be sure to post a finished-pic the next time I make this, which is sure to be soon.

…wondering what to serve as sides?  We did mashed potatoes, buttered and parslied carrots, and sweet and sour red cabbage.  Check tomorrow’s post for the latest recipes!

Enjoy and happy eating.

Leave a Reply

